Ok, another new one...
Oct. 10th, 2010 10:07 pm
+ Decent production
+ A-list seiyuu cast (Miyano Mamoru, Jun Fukuyama, Ishida Akira, Miki Shinichirou, Maaya Sakamoto, Houko Kuwashima, etc)
- Cheesy & flamboyant action
Quick impression ~ There's a new student at a school on some island where all the main characters have different colored hair. Said student turns out to be the 'Ginga Bishonen' or Galactic Pretty Boy complete with a flashy transformation, flashy outfit, flashy posing and a flashy mech. The nods to all the mech anime stereotypes are interesting, but don't quite deliver a punchline. I did like the colorful production, but didn't take to the droopy-eyed character design. This could either be as extraordinary as Code Geass was or just a knock-off. Still too early to tell. hm-hm.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-15 02:54 am (UTC)Code Geass was the worst anime I’ve ever seen in my whole entire life. It also had the ugliest characters ever designed by man. They looked like radioactive preying mantises. It also featured the worst female characters ever, like ever, and in a genre that includes Relena Peacecraft that’s really saying something.
YOU ARE DEAD TO ME.
(I kind of like Star Driver; it’s pleasingly dumb on purpose. I think?)
no subject
Date: 2010-10-15 03:12 am (UTC)Star Driver has the galactic pretty boy with the hips. Not totally sold on it yet. So many other terrible things to melt my brain with...
no subject
Date: 2010-10-15 04:59 am (UTC)NO IT WASN’T.
So far, I’ve been watching Zakuro, which I really like despite the fact that it will probably be 38 episodes long and have exactly 45 minutes of meaningful action (fun fact: Zakuro is the first manga I ever translated, and I butchered the crap out of it), Hakuouki: Hekketsuroku, because I can’t stop watching
AoshiToshi and his hair, and Star Driver, because it has not yet annoyed me badly enough to drop it. I’m also going to try out Togainu no Chi, because the game was very buttsexy and I assume the anime will contain at least some of those themes. If it doesn’t, I will stop watching. And probably cry. A lot. In public.