Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
D. Grayman 8! starts out with a shirtless Allen working out..woot. In this episode, Komui creates a robot that is supposed to help the staff at the headquarters. It goes haywire after drinking some coffee and goes after Allen. The staff tries to help him out. Lenalee uses her awesome boots to break it. The others finally throw that welcoming party for Allen. It was cute, but not laugh-out-loud funny. The zombies at the end eating the eggs were a tad more cute. Decided that this series is pretty mediocre and I'll rely on my sis to let me know when it picks up.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

D. Grayman 7! did a pretty half-hearted job at squeezing sympathy out for little Allen Walker. *spoilers* So Allen's adoptive father, Mana, dies, little Allen meets the Earl, his father becomes an Akuma and Allen's arm saves him. It seems a little odd that the Earl didn't try to kill Allen when he had the chance. The Earl doesn't really do anything but laugh like an old pervert. Any real agenda with him? Also, there was no real elaboration on Allen's relationship with Mana. Does Mana say 'keep walking' because he is a 'Walker'...haha, lame. And do we ever get to why the show is called 'D. Grayman'? Moving on, Lenalee's boots are pretty cool if not the only reason to throw in panty-shots, but the actual action was pretty low-quality. This is a so-so anime that I keep comparing to Hagaren. If the gore level was upped a little and the visual detail was more defined, at least the eye-candy part of the entertainment would be satisfying. I think I may knock it off my list pretty soon.
D. Grayman 6! I'm getting fond of T.M. Revolution's new project. Hope the PV comes out soon. (The single is out in Dec). As for the episode, Allen meets a young boy, Jean, who triggers all sorts of informative flashbacks for us. Jean is lured to the Millenium Earl by his Akuma-ed friend, Leo, and Allen goes to save them. We get the story of Allen, his father and the Earl in the next episode (I hope). I kinda wish the production of this anime was a bit better in quality, but everything else about the anime is still appealing.

Bakumatsu Kikansetsu Irohanihoheto 4! There's an old western drama-esque song about riders in the storm or something that the opening song reminds me of. In episode 4, the assassin who failed in the previous episode tries to kill the troop of actors' leader. Akidzuki is able to stop him. There's a small amount of essential understanding that I'm failing to absorb. I may have to go back and rewatch the previous episodes, but I suspect more will be revealed later on. There is definitely a lack of explanation and lack of fanservice in this show. There are fanservice-able characters which may be my only attraction to the show...haha.
sucker for classical music...
Nodame Cantabile 1! is surprisingly good. A small, CUTE boy, Chiaki, meets a great maestro in Europe and learns from him. Because of his parents' divorce, he has to move back to Japan. On the return trip, the plane has a bad landing scarring the boy for life so that he grows up not able to fly back to his beloved maestro. Noda is a girl who cannot read music well, but can play the piano by ear. She picks up a drunken Chiaki one night and falls in love with him.

+ There's a funny, funny flashback scene where you see the toy airplane on a string crashing.
+ Eto-sensei played by Toyohara Kosuke is attractive and humorous. He also played the humorous, bad guy in Densha Otoko.
+ The writers took the seemingly serious parts and made it so dramatic & kooky that it is very entertaining.
+ There are pretty settings and fun classical background music.
+ Ah♥ They played the same piano duet by Mozart that was featured in Ouran. (It's Mozart's Sonata in D K.448...for those who want to try it out)
+ Great acting and weird personalities make this more fun to watch than the Corda anime.
- This makes me a little curious about the manga.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

sucker for food...
Teppan Shoujo Akane 1! Horikita Maki (from Nobuto wo Produce) plays Akane who is looking for her father who is a Teppan chef. She is also a Teppan chef. She gets to make and eat lotsa yummy-looking food! Maki can surprisingly act like a normal, dorky girl.

+ Yummy food.
- I feel fat watching her make the Akane Special.
+ This is another drama which features fun & outlandish personalities.
+ There's even dorky posing and special effects. (reminding me of Yakitate Japan).

almost a sucker for fashion...
Tatta Hitosu no Koi 1! This is Kame's new drama about a poor boy who works at a boatyard and a rich girl who goes to an elite school. Boy and his friends went illegal fishing one day. Girl runs into bucket o' fish. Boy and Girl detest each other. Boy and friends go to a rich people party. Boy meets girl again. Looooove. Overall, it's very boring, but the rich people have cute clothing. Kame isn't particularly handsome. He has that bump on his nose that Tom Cruise has...which I guess, must be an attractive feature. This drama isn't too interesting, so I'm not going to watch anymore...lala.

sucker for anime...as always,
D. Grayman 3! Allen and Kanda are paired up for a mission. The concept of the Finders is explained. Is it my screen or is the action parts of the anime too dark to see details? Maybe its a new way of keeping the budget low. The first half of the anime was fun. The second half pretty dull. A few more and then I think I may drop this.
Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

D. Grayman 2! Is that like Superman, but not super and with gray powers? The palette of the show is pretty dark, but this episode is cute and happy...and a bit perverted. What's with the huge condom character? and the checking of Allen's Innocence? C'mon, that's just leaving the door wide open for nc-17 fanworks. Anyway, side characters are introduced as Allen is accepted into the exorcist gang.

Chevalier D'eon update~ watched through episode 5 and couldn't find any reason to like any of the characters or what was happening. no more.

Red Garden 1! decided to try this....since I have a bit of downtime.

+ Lovely opening featuring sillouetted figures and colorful designs. The music was jazzy, I guess.
+ Nice animation and character design.
- The plot is mysteriously dull.
- Kate breaks out into song...very loopy. Reminds me of Marginal Prince's first episode.
+ LMC's ending is catchy.

Quick impression~ A handful of girls in NYC have forgotten what happened overnight. There was a death. There are mysterious butterflies. It's all connected...to some woman with big lips...and her attack doggies. This is a very well-made mystery/horror drama for those who like that sort of thing. no screencaps since the file i d/led was a weird non-capping format...try the homepage for the trailer to see what it looks like.

Pumpkin Scissors 2! The Pumpkin Scissors war relief group/brigade is sent out to investigate a town where there are complaints against an arisocrat who sorta runs the town. He sets up games where he chases people with his tank. Alice and her men confront him and the guys get chased by the tank. Orland turns on his blue lantern, gets a glazed look in his eyes, and is able defeat the tank. I'm guessing he will try to find peace in his new position as the group tries to help those under war-related oppression. So far this series looks episodic in nature, but I'm sure Orland's past will catch up to him. Not sure if that interests me.
First, Glay's guitarist, Takuro, will write Nana's song for the second live-action movie. Ai Yazawa will write the lyrics and Mika Nakashima will again perform. Sounds like another hit to me...even though that online poll voted for Laruku/Hyde to write it again...weep

and on to the new anime~ I do hope the fansubbers use the higher quality raws...cause these initial files from the regular sources kinda suck. I doubt that there are any spoilers in these first episodes, but I tend to write whatever comes to mind.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Death Note 1!

+ Miyano Mamoru does a great job at making you forget he voiced Tamaki.
+ Very good production and animation. Madhouse and its staff are able to move through a lengthy dialogue without making it too dull.
+ Light's red eyes are a nice touch.
+ Excellent color palette used in the whole anime. It gives it the proper setting and mood to this psychological thriller.
- The chants in the background also set the mood, but unneccessarily make me cringe. (reminds me of Tsubasa music at times...but not as horrid).
+ The opening and ending by Nightmare aren't great songs, but the visuals are definitely eye-catching.

Quick impression~ Light makes you like him as he uses the Death Note to kill criminals. Ryuuku makes you like her as she munches on apples. It's all so wrong.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
D.Grayman 1! I admit I find the manga very nicely-drawn, but a little boring. The anime seems promising.

+ Allen and his "snitch", Timcampi, have established their cuteness in the first episode.
+ It has decent animation, music & production, but
- there are moments of cheap animation.
+ TMRevolution's group, Abingdon School Boys, sings the opening which is energetic and might be a likable song.
- Nirgilis's ending song is forgettable.

Quick impression~ Allen is some sort of exorcist and has a possessed arm which causes him angst(?) In the first episode, Allen saves a girl and releases her brother from an Akuma. We get a glimpse of the Millennium Earl. The action sequences weren't too special and this first episode didn't present anything too unique, but judging from the opening, there are many more interesting characters on the way with better storylines.

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Yamato Nadesico Shichihenge 1! (wonders if there is a shortened name...) Nobuta wo Produce the jdrama reminded me of this series. That and the manga are about a homely-looking girl who gets transformed by some good-looking guys. The manga is quite funny mainly due to the main character and her love of the morbid. The anime...

--- Cheap animation plagues this anime.
- Odd-looking lipsticked mouths are a part of the character design
- which is the least of their problems since the guys don't look cute at all.
- The opening and ending are very lame.
+ The SD moments are a little cute,
- but not funny.

Quick impression~ Four bishonen make a deal with their landlord to transform her ugly niece into an elegant woman in exchange for free rent. I am not watching anymore since the animation is terrible. Actually, the comedic moments with the SD people remind me of Sweet Valerian which may be it's only saving grace.
The promo pic looks very promising.

The Death Note promo pic also looks good. ans has a tiny one.

Both series start this fall...i think.

There was a correction on the previous post about the Nadesico anime.

Profile

seichan: (Default)
seichan

March 2018

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25 262728293031

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 04:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios