Travel notes: Shinkansen!
Oct. 28th, 2010 07:53 amToday we took the Nozomi to Tokyo (12,710 yen - nonreserve seat); transferred at Shinagawa to the Yamamote line to Shinjuku. Riding the train means bento box! I am impressed by the overall tastiness of all the takeaway food everywhere, but I find that there aren't enough calories to truly keep me filled. Anyway, the train ride was so smooth and speedy. Any chance we could get the Japanese to construct a railway system in the US? Shinjuku Station definitely challenged our navigation skills. The place could definitely use more maps and more signs. The station connects directly underground to WSH where we are staying...but I wouldn't recommend this hotel to larger individuals. Actually, I wouldn't recommend the one in Kyoto to larger individuals either. We took the rest of the day off from sightseeing, and spent some time browsing the shops around Shinjuku. We had to get something warmer for tomorrow's trip to Hakone & Mt. Fuji as it is slighter colder (and wetter) here than we originally thought it would be. Anyone have any restaurant recs in Shinjuku? There are too many choices online.
no subject
Date: 2010-10-28 02:22 pm (UTC)Do you have a list of things you want to eat?
http://r.tabelog.com/washoku/tokyo/A1304/A130401/R6754/
Use the price filters. Anything 3.2 and above is usually pretty decent. Sometimes they have coupons (in red on the right).
*
bb
no subject
Date: 2010-10-28 02:24 pm (UTC)http://bento.com/ra-nshin.html
Places I've tried at the site have all been good.
*bb
no subject
Date: 2010-10-28 03:49 pm (UTC)There is also a branch of Tsuki no Shizuku right by the station (I think -- I always mess up the name) which is an izakaya style place focusing on tofu dishes, but also including a fair amount of meat items. Not entirely cheap (all those little plates add up, figure on at least 4000 yen per person) but so worth it.
I am enjoying your trip notes! Have a fantastic time. Have you been to Otome Road yet??
no subject
Date: 2010-10-28 09:15 pm (UTC)otome road..not yet. :D